Skip to content
PhotoResizerr.
Toggle colour theme

SSC photo and signature size

SSC does not take a photo upload. Its CGL and CHSL 2026 notices say the form captures a live photo from your camera, and a photo of a printed photo is rejected. The one file you upload is your signature: JPEG, 10 to 20 KB, about 6.0 x 2.0 cm. The tool below makes it.

Jump to the tool

Your workspace PIXELS · PREVIEW · DOWNLOADPrivate by default

A fresh canvasPIXELS
Choose an image to get startedDrop your image here, or pick one belowJPG · PNG · WebP · HEIC · AVIF · GIF · BMP
Dimensions
Common sizes
Save as
Quality
Smaller82Sharper
No photo yet
Open a photo to see the file it will make.

Processed on your deviceNo watermark. No signup.

What does SSC ask you to upload?

Both 2026 notices say the same thing, in the same paragraph numbers. Here is each as it states it, with the pages it came from.

SSC Combined Graduate Level 2026

Photo
Captured live by the application. No photo file is uploaded.
Photo of a photo
Rejected
Signature format
JPEG or JPG
Signature file size
10 to 20 KB
Signature size
About 6.0 x 2.0 cm (paragraph 9.6), about 4.0 x 2.0 cm (annexure)
Pixels
Not stated
Rejected
Blurred or miniature signatures
Document
Notice of 21 May 2026, paragraphs 9.3 to 9.6 (pages 18 and 19) and the application annexure (page 71)
Source
ssc.gov.in
Read at the source on

SSC Combined Higher Secondary Level 2026

Photo
Captured live by the application. No photo file is uploaded.
Photo of a photo
Rejected
Signature format
JPEG or JPG
Signature file size
10 to 20 KB
Signature size
About 6.0 x 2.0 cm (paragraph 9.6), about 4.0 x 2.0 cm (Annexure IV)
Pixels
Not stated
Rejected
Blurred, illegible or miniature signatures
Document
Notice of 7 September 2026, paragraphs 9.3 to 9.6 (pages 11 and 12) and Annexure IV (page 53)
Source
ssc.gov.in
Read at the source on

How do you take the live photo?

When the form asks, sit or stand in front of the camera. Both notices list the same instructions for the moment the application takes the picture.

Find good light and a plain background. Put the camera at eye level, face it directly and look straight ahead.

Keep your whole face inside the area the camera marks out, neither too close nor too far. Take off any cap, mask, glasses or spectacles.

No webcam? Both notices point to a QR code on the Upload Documents page. It downloads an Android app from the Play Store, which takes the photo on your phone instead.

Do not point the camera at a printed or on-screen photo of yourself. The notices say every application captured that way will be rejected, and you must look like the photo at the exam.

Which signature size, 6.0 or 4.0 cm?

Each notice gives both. Paragraph 9.6 asks for about 6.0 x 2.0 cm, and the application annexure asks for about 4.0 x 2.0 cm. Both say JPEG, 10 to 20 KB, and neither gives pixels.

The tool starts at 6.0 x 2.0 cm, the size in the main paragraph of both notices. At 300 DPI that is 709 x 236 pixels, and the file records 300 DPI, so it prints at 6.0 x 2.0 cm.

We ran two test signatures through this page's editor at both sizes and two resolutions. Every box landed inside 10 to 20 KB. At the two 200 DPI boxes, three of the four results needed the quality raised to get there.

File size the editor settled on, and the JPEG quality it used
Box, in pixelsClean scanPhone photo
709 x 236 (6.0 x 2.0 cm at 300 DPI)17.0 KB, quality 8214.8 KB, quality 82
472 x 236 (4.0 x 2.0 cm at 300 DPI)14.4 KB, quality 8211.3 KB, quality 82
472 x 157 (6.0 x 2.0 cm at 200 DPI)11.2 KB, quality 8210.0 KB, raised to 84
315 x 157 (4.0 x 2.0 cm at 200 DPI)10.1 KB, raised to 9110.1 KB, raised to 93

At 709 x 236 neither signature needed any change to the quality. For the annexure's 4.0 cm, type 472 as the width and keep 236 as the height.

The signatures were drawn for this test, and the scanned one is 550 pixels wide, so the largest box enlarged it. A signature scanned at 300 DPI already has those pixels.

Crop close to the ink before you resize. A signature filling a small corner of its box is the miniature signature both notices reject.

Do you need printed photos at the exam?

Paragraph 14.7 of both notices asks candidates who could not complete Aadhaar authentication to bring at least two recent passport size colour photographs, with an original photo ID.

Neither notice gives a measurement for those prints. If you want the size of an Indian passport photo, 3.5 x 4.5 cm, the India passport photo page linked below makes one.

Aadhaar authentication helps twice. Paragraph 9.3 says those applications will not be rejected because the photo or signature misses the standard, and those candidates need no photographs at the venue.

What happens to your photo?

Your selected photo is processed in your browser, without an image upload to a server. The page may download code and codecs needed for editing.

Save your result before closing the tab; unsaved edits are kept in memory rather than in an online account.

Common questions

What is the SSC photo size in KB?

Neither 2026 notice gives one, because no photo file is uploaded. The form takes a live photo through your camera. Figures such as 20 to 50 KB, quoted on many resizer sites, appear in neither notice.

Can I upload a photo from my gallery?

No. The application captures the photo itself. Both notices say an application where the candidate photographs an existing photograph will be rejected.

My live photo came out badly. What now?

Capture it again before you submit. Both notices advise recapturing a photo that does not follow the instructions. Check the light, the plain background, and that your whole face sits inside the marked area.

What is the SSC signature size in pixels?

SSC does not say. About 6.0 x 2.0 cm is 709 x 236 pixels at 300 DPI, or 472 x 157 at 200 DPI. The rules SSC does state are JPEG and 10 to 20 KB.

Can I use a thumb impression instead?

The CGL 2026 annexure allows a thumb impression for candidates with a visual impairment, PwD (VH). The CHSL 2026 annexure does not mention one in its upload instructions.

Last updated: